Trail 3: Turkey Run’s best

Last weekend I was incredibly busy – the weekdays seemed to drag on into Saturday and Sunday without a break. I was desperate to get out of my apartment, but didn’t have much time to spare. Needing to be back by noon on Sunday, I planned a morning trip down to Turkey Run State Park.

If you’ve visited before, you know just like I do how many experiences are to be had out there between the trees and steep canyon walls. From endless hiking trails, canoeing, horseback riding, camping… the list goes on. Luckily, the February weather limited my options, but I was still left with only an hour to hike. In case you’re ever in the same boat, know this: there’s one trail in particular that packs the best features any Indiana explorer could ask for all into a single one-mile hike – Turkey Run’s Trail #3.

I’m not one to ruin all the fun, so if you haven’t been then go explore for yourself. But here’s a quick slideshow for your peeping purposes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Yeah, I was pretty exhausted on the drive back up to West Lafayette, but needless to say was happy to have (sort of) fit a weekend getaway into a 60 minute hike at one of Indiana’s most scenic State Parks. One last word of advice, though: if the temperature is above 32 degrees, leave your coat in the car. Trust me and my sweat-soaked undershirt, it’s not too cold.

Leave a Reply

